More

Deanwood Park

 

 

 

 (Our iconic statue)

 

Are you new to this area?

Looking for a friendly place to play golf?

Over 55?

Then get in touch with Deanwood Evergreens via the Clubhouse on 01635

48772.



 

Yellow Ball, January 2019.


Seven teams started out on a blustery, grey morning to play a yellow ball contest.

 

It wasn't close!

 

The team of Mona Butler, Dave Buckland-Jones and John Byrne just demolished the rest of the competition.

Their total of 171 was eight points  ahead of Harry Jackson (good to see you back Harry) Nigel Connor and Allen Thomas who finished in second.

 

They were a further ten points in front of third place finishers Tom Wallin, Graham Falconer and Bob Giles.

 

Some scoring!

 

 

Mona, John and Dave!

 

 

Complete results:

Position

Player 1

Hcp

Player 2

Hcp

Player 3

Hcp

Net Score

1

Mona Butler

21

John Bryne

21

Dave Buckland-Jones

28

171

2

Harry Jackson

20

Nigel Connor

16

Allen Thomas

26

163

3

Tom Wallin

19

Graham Falconer

17 

Bob Giles

17

153

4

Mike York

15

Stuart Brunsden

17

Richard Cross

23

150

5

Richard Tripp

25

Gordon Dobson

23

Rob Sim

14

149

6

Rob Butler

26

Peter Sharp

20

Linda Vale

22

147

7

Roy Kennedy

17

Steven Vale

25

Sid Edwards

24

146

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Players with 2's

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mike York

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sid Edwards

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roy Kennedy

 

 

 

 
     


 

 

Image result for queries

 

 

As is ever the case I would always like to hear any news you have about the Club!

roy.kennedy@ntlworld.co.uk

 

 


 

 Start time!

 

Start time is now 8.15 a.m.

 

Image result for 0815

 

DON'T FORGET!

 



Next week!

 *****Next week is the January Stableford *****

 



 

  

Just a reminder that if you are scoring someone else's card in a competition, friendly or not, you should sign it before returning it to them!

  

 



 

Do you know?

Who this is?

 Related image

 

Answer at the bottom of the page.



 

Speed of play.

 

A gentle reminder that you should always try to maintain contact with the playing group in front of you and if you fall more than a hole behind it is courteous to let the next group play through. 



 New Rules.


We are all aware that new rules are now in play!

Here is a breakdown of the most relevant changes in a slightly better format!

 

New Rule Books are available in the Clubhouse!



 

 

 Course Etiquette.

PLEASE replace divots, repair pitchmarks and rake bunkers!

It just makes it fairer for those following on.

Thank you!

 



 

Another Joke!

A guy is walking through the country when he spots a sign that reads, “Talking Horse for Sale.” Intrigued, he walks up to the stable to check it out.

“So what have you done with your life?” he asks the horse.

“I’ve led a full life,” the horse answers miraculously. “I was born in The Andes where I herded for an entire village. Years later, I joined the mounted police force in New York and helped keep the city clean. And now, I spend my days giving free rides to underprivileged kids here in the country.”

The guy is flabbergasted. He asks the horse’s owner, “Why on earth would you want to get rid of such an incredible animal?”

The owner says, “Because he’s a liar! He never did any of that!”



 

The Deans

 

 The Deans provided a nail biter for their first 'Major' of the year.

 

The Icebreaker had to turn to the tiebreaker (countback) to separate the first three teams!

 

Coming off worst were Tom Wallin, Harry Jackson and Richard Jones.

 

Next to suffer were Roy Kennedy, Barry Wall and John Goddard.

 

Smiling through it all was the team of Bob Giles, Brian Faithfull and Colin Jones with 87 points.

 

A great start to the year! 

 

 

Bob, Brian and Colin with their hard earned 'goodies'!

 

 

Next week is just a roll up.

 



Seniors slightly less provisional Diary 2019

 

 
Jan Fri 4-Jan Seniors Medal Feb Fri 1-Feb Seniors Medal
  Fri 11-Jan Yellow ball   Fri 8-Feb Stroke & Putt
  Fri 18-Jan Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 15-Feb Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 25-Jan 3 Club Challenge   Fri 22-Feb Half & Half
               
               
 
Mar Fri 1-Mar Seniors Medal Apr     Draw Change to 8:00
  Fri 8-Mar Seniors - 123 Waltz Strokeplay   Fri 5-Apr Seniors Medal
  Fri 15-Mar Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 12-Apr Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 22-Mar Bogey Competition   Fri 19-Apr Good Friday
  Fri 29-Mar Half & Half   Fri 26-Apr Seniors vs Basset Down (H) *
               
 
May Fri 3-May Seniors Medal Jun Fri 7-Jun Seniors Medal
  Fri 10-May Greensomes   Thur 14-Jun Seniors vs Basset Down (A) *
  Fri 17-May Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 21-Jun Stableford/Eclectic
  Thu 23-May Seniors vs Bradfield (A) #   Fri 28-Jun Awayday - Carswell f
  Fri 24-May Texas Scramble        
  Fri 31-May Les Hargreaves Trophy        
 
Jul Fri 5-Jul Seniors Medal Aug Fri 2-Aug Seniors Medal
  Fri 12-Jul Bowmaker Strokeplay   Fri 9-Aug Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 19-Jul Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 16-Aug Richard Martin Charity Day
  Fri 26-Jul Yellow Ball   Fri 23-Aug Seniors vs Theale (H) #
          Fri 30-Aug Texas Scramble
               
 
Sep Fri 6-Sep Seniors Medal Oct Fri 4-Oct Seniors Medal
  Fri 13-Sep Senior vs Bradfield (H) #   Fri 11-Oct Seniors - 123 Waltz Stableford
  Fri 20-Sep Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 18-Oct Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 27-Sep Seniors vs Theale (A) #   Fri 25-Oct Seniors - BB
               
 
      Draw Change to 8:30 Dec Fri 6-Dec Seniors Christmas Challenge
Nov Fri 1-Nov Seniors Medal   Fri 13-Dec Seniors Medal
  Fri 8-Nov Bowmaker Stableford   Fri 20-Dec Stableford/Eclectic
  Fri 15-Nov Stableford/Eclectic   Fri 27-Dec Texas Scramble
  Fri 22-Nov 6/6/6        
  Fri 29-Nov Seniors 123 Stableford        
               
 

 


 


 

Answer : Roger Moore



 

 

If you have any comments or queries about this page please contact me at : roy.kennedy@ntlworld.com





Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.